Flush Caches

The Flush Caches menu can be found within the Arnold menubar in the main application window

 

If you have Auto-mipmap or Auto-tile options enabled by default, a pre-process of the texture will be performed by OIIO in the first render that a texture is used. This will be saved in the texture cache, and the process will not be required in the following renders. The drawback of this is that in Windows, textures will be locked after the first render.
If you need to modify texture while you are rendering, you have the following options:
  • Use the Flush Caches->Textures command.
  • Disable Auto-mipmap and Auto-tile options while you are modifying textures. With this option, you will not have any preprocess before each render.

Used texture files are locked after a render has been started (even if it is not an IPR session) and they cannot be written by another application such as Photoshop, for example. The typical message that is shown is:


The user then has to close the application and reopen the scene for the Arnold plugin to accept the newly saved texture file. A workaround is to flush the caches.

Auto-TX must be disabled as well, otherwise, the .tx texture is used and the original can be modified.

This issue only exists on the Windows platform. Linux and MacOS should be unaffected.

Textures

With no TX files if you have the Auto-mipmap or Auto-tile options enabled by default, a pre-process of the texture will be performed and the texture is saved in the texture cache. The drawback of this is that on Windows, textures will be locked after the first render. Use this command to flush the texture cache in case you need to modify a texture while you are rendering.

Skydome lights

Flush all textures assigned to a skydome light.

Quad lights

Flush all textures assigned to a quad light.

All

Flush all texture caches in the scene, including normal, skydome and quad light textures.


 

  • No labels