Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

...

Multiexcerpt
MultiExcerptNamesynopsis
Center

 

In this short tutorial, we will use some of Arnold's color shaders to create an interesting effect that could be used as part of a motion graphics animation. This animation is being driven primarily by a Utilityutility shader (Object ID mode) which is connected to a Color Jittercolor_jitter shader that has some key frame keyframe animation.

tutorial

Multiexcerpt
MultiExcerptNametutorial

Color Jitter and Utility Shaders

  • Connect a Color Jitter color_jitter shader to the Emission Coloremission_color of the Standard Surface standard_surface shader and increase the Emission Weightemission_weight to 1.
  • Connect a Utilityutility shader to the Input of the Color Jitterinput of the color_jitter shader. Change the Shade Mode to Flat shade_mode to flat in the Utility utility shader. This is because we only want pure color from the Utility shader to create a pattern. Change the Overlay Mode to Polywireoverlay_mode to polywire. This will overlay a wireframe on top of the color.
  • In this case, the Color Mode color_mode has been set to UV Coords uv_coords. This will give us a diagonal wipe effect to our pattern, once it is animated. You can, of course, choose a different Color Modecolor_mode like U or V Coordscoords or something entirely different. The idea is to experiment and have fun finding different techniques!

  • Increase the Hue Maxhue_max (Face) of the Color Jittercolor_jitter shader to see the effect that it has on the Utility utility shader. If the plane does not have enough subdivisions, you can always increase the number of Subdivision Iterationssubdivision_iterations for the plane. 
Center

Gallery
includeLabelsubdivs
sortname

More triangles are visible when increasing the number of Subdivision Iterations subdivision_iterations

 

Color Correct

We can use a Color Correctcolor_correct shader to change the color of the triangles.

  • Connect a Color Correctcolor_correct shader in-between the Color Jitter color_jitter and the Standard Surface standard_surface shaders. Adjust the Hue Shift hue_shift and change the Multiplymultiply color. You can adjust the attributes of the Color Correct color_correct shader until you get something that looks pleasing. In this case, the Gammagamma and Contrastcontrast were also adjusted.

Center

 

We can also change the colors by using some of the other color shaders in Arnold. Below are some examples using the Composite and Shufflecomposite and shuffle shaders.

Center

Gallery
includeLabelcolor-shaders

 

Finally, try key framing keyframing the Gain gain and Hue hue (Faceface) attributes of the Color Jitter color_jitter shader. You should see the effect is animated across the surface of the plane because the Color Mode color_mode of the Utility utility shader has been set to UV Coordsuv_coords.

 

 

Privacy settings / Do not sell my personal information / Privacy/Cookies